Skip to content

Music for 15-Year-Old’s: Snoop Dogg/Lion Writes an Entire Song About… Fruit Juice

July 1, 2013
Snoop Loves His Fruit Juice... and Weed, apparently.

Snoop Loves His Fruit Juice… and Weed, apparently.

Yes, I’m not ashamed to admit it: I downloaded the new Snoop Dogg (“Lion”) album, Reincarnated, and have actually taken the time out of my life to listen to it.  At first, I pondered whether or not I should reveal this information to you Ready Readers, but if casually following politics has taught me anything, it’s the less sketltons in the closet, the better!  So, yes, I readily admit I listen to this Snoop “Lion” album, and have even put some songs on my running mixes.

One such song is “Fruit Juice.”  You’re probably thinking the term “fruit juice” is slang for pimpin’, or for booze, or seman, or something.  Most rap songs hide their innuendo in silly little terms like “Pimp Juice.”  But this song is – literally – about fruit juice.  As in, the beverage you buy your kids, that comes in little cardboard boxes.

Don’t believe me?  See for yourself:

Like I said – this song is literally about juice, made from various fruits that grow on various trees.  And you know what?  I find it incredibly refreshing to have a rap song (I know it’s technically a reggae song, but this is about as reggae as a trip to the accountant to get your taxes done) that is about something as pure, innocent and – of course – delicious as fruit juice.  So much of hip hop is littered with songs about drugs, street violence, and bypassing the line to get into the club, that it’s a true breath of fresh air to hear one about the simple joys one receives when drinking a glass of juice.

I think back to all the wonderful fruit juices I’ve had in my life: Tropicana, Ocean Spray, V8, Simply Orange, Capri Sun, Purple Stuff, Sunny D… and the sense memory alone makes me want to write a lyrical ode to these refreshing beverages.  Fortunately, I don’t have to now, because Snoop has done the job for me!

Unless I’m a completely idiotic, naive white boy and all of these fruit juice lyrics are, in fact, euphemisms for various drugs, narcotics and marijuana flavors.  And if this is the case, I will be very sad, and my innocence will be shattered.

Not for the first time, and certainly, not for the last.

Pete

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

